CVE-2019-2386

Authorization session conflation

State
Published
Severity
7.1 High
Published
Aug 6, 2019
Updated
Aug 4, 2024
Reserved
Dec 10, 2018

Read the record on cve.org

Description

After user deletion in MongoDB Server the improper invalidation of authorization sessions allows an authenticated user's session to persist and become conflated with new accounts, if those accounts reuse the names of deleted ones. This issue affects MongoDB Server v4.0 versions prior to 4.0.9; MongoDB Server v3.6 versions prior to 3.6.13 and MongoDB Server v3.4 versions prior to 3.4.22.

Workaround: After deleting one or more users, restart any nodes which may have had active user authorization sessions.

Refrain from creating user accounts with the same name as previously deleted accounts.

Scores

CVSSScoreVectorSource
3.17.1 HighCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:Hmongodb

Weaknesses

Affected Products

ProductVersions
MongoDB ServerMongoDB Inc.
  • 4.0 to before 4.0.9Affected
  • 3.6 to before 3.6.13Affected
  • 3.4 to before 3.4.22Affected

References

Every record here comes from the CVE Program’s CVE List. © 1999–2026 The MITRE Corporation. CVE is a registered trademark of The MITRE Corporation. The records are reproduced under the CVE Program terms of use.