CVE-2021-32689
Nextcloud Talk not properly disassociating users from chats after account deletion
- State
- Published
- Severity
- 8.1 High
- Published
- Jul 12, 2021
- Updated
- Aug 3, 2024
- Reserved
- May 12, 2021
Description
Nextcloud Talk is a fully on-premises audio/video and chat communication service. In versions prior to 11.2.2, if a user was able to reuse an earlier used username, they could get access to any chat message sent to the previous user with this username. The issue was patched in versions 11.2.2 and 11.3.0. As a workaround, don't allow users to choose usernames themselves. This is the default behaviour of Nextcloud, but some user providers may allow doing so.
Scores
| CVSS | Score | Vector | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.1 | 8.1 High | CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N | GitHub_M |
Weaknesses
Affected Products
| Product | Versions |
|---|---|
security-advisoriesnextcloud |
|
References
Every record here comes from the CVE Program’s CVE List. © 1999–2026 The MITRE Corporation. CVE is a registered trademark of The MITRE Corporation. The records are reproduced under the CVE Program terms of use.